Zondo: Zizi Kodwa 'beholden' to former EOH exec, Ramaphosa must review his position | Fin24

2022/04/29 14:35:00

In his report, State Capture Report, Chief Justice Raymond Zondo says it is 'untenable' for the deputy minister of State Security to find himself in a position where he is beholden to a suspect in multiple criminal investigations.

In his report, State Capture Report, Chief Justice Raymond Zondo says it is 'untenable' for the deputy minister of State Security to find himself in a position where he is beholden to a suspect in multiple criminal investigations. | Fin24

In his report, State Capture Report, Chief Justice Raymond Zondo says it is 'untenable' for the deputy minister of State Security to find himself in a position where he is beholden to a suspect in multiple criminal investigations.

Deputy Minister of State Security Zizi Kodwa.The commission says Mackay should be subject to multiple criminal investigations.Between February 2014 and April 2015, EOH-related entities and Mackay are said to have made cash payments of around R1.6 million to Kodwa and another R30 000 for his benefit.

READ | EOH, through its subsidiary, EOH Mthombo, was a recipient of a number of government contracts that have since come under the scrutiny of law enforcement agencies. Mackay himself is among a group of former executives that EOH is pursuing in a bid to recoup some of the monies lost to the group to corrupt activities.

Read more:
News24 »

WATCH: New VW bakkie as solid as Amarok | The Citizen

Volkswagen about to take Mzansi bakkie market by storm through various trim levels and reintroduction of single cab. Read more >>

Peterman43 Fin24 Mafia state, why don’t u prosecute Zizi for the bribe? Fin24 No step aside for him? Fin24 Congratulations to comrade Ace Magashule his name not mentioned on the Zondo commission fourth report meant his clean. Fin24 Why is it difficult for you to mention the implicated individual by his name? I am asking this because you didn't hesitate to mention the name Zuma

Fin24 One thing I'm glad of is that most people have seen how twisted is Zondo. Fin24 And what will be done about it....... FUCK ALL!!!!! Fin24 I was scammed through Bitcoin couple of months ago, I started hating Bitcoin until I was introduced to _ambreymarcus1 , and I gave Bitcoin trading another try, I successfully withdrew R85,000 after two weeks of trading, am so grateful _ambreymarcus1 thank you.

Fin24 It will be painful for Cyril to fire this one Fin24 They also recommend who the president should fire or recommend who should vacate ? 🤔

‘Serious challenges’ with state capture report drafts led to delay, says ZondoThe chief justice’s application for a six-week extension will be heard by the high court on Thursday We're not surprised... Ok.

Zondo granted extension to deliver final instalment of state capture reportZondo had approached the court earlier this month for the extension of the deadline, citing difficulty in completing the report. 😁

High court gives Zondo six more weeks to finalise ultimate state capture reportChief justice and inquiry chair Raymond Zondo’s bid was unopposed by respondents, including the president, several political parties and Casac Good things come to those who are patient 🙏🇿🇦

Zondo granted eighth extension as part four of state capture report is awaitedZondo granted eighth extension as part four of state capture report is awaited - The commission’s urgent application to the high court was unopposed and it now has until 15 June to deliver the final chapter of its findings on state capture Being the head of the home isn't easy, you are expected to provide for the home, I lost my job during the pandemic and relied on the little money I had,things were hard until I met Williamchurch07 and started Bitcoin trading, I earned R500,000 in 3 weeks thanks Williamchurch07 It is actually ridiculous that a time limit has to be set. Surely he can be trusted to provide a complete response as quickly as possible? Quality could suffer if time pressure is applied. ANC coal quality style wooden reactive armor Russian military's tender corruption alive and exposed on the battlefield.

DAYS OF ZONDO: State Capture commission granted seventh extension as Chief Justice defends delaysThe High Court in Pretoria has permitted a six-week extension to complete the final report of the Zondo Commission, which must now be delivered in mid-June. This is the seventh extension so far – but in a live interview on SABC on Thursday night, Chief Justice Raymond Zondo insisted that the commission is at the ‘tail end’ of its work. This better be worth it

Jacob Zuma 'would do anything' to help Gupta family's state capture project — Zondo reportFormer president Jacob Zuma played a key role in helping the Gupta family capture Eskom, the latest instalment of the state capture report has found. Being the head of the home isn't easy, you are expected to provide for the home, I lost my job during the pandemic and relied on the little money I had,things were hard until I met Williamchurch07 and started Bitcoin trading, I earned R500,000 in 3 weeks thanks Williamchurch07 The ANCNEC should acknowledge that thos fellow is a common criminal and resolve to expel him. It's the only way to remove this stain that refuses to go away. There's no such crime as 'key role'

Zondo: Zizi Kodwa 'beholden' to former EOH exec, Ramaphosa must review his position Sibongile Khumalo Share Deputy Minister of State Security Zizi Kodwa.27 April 2022 - 21:42 Erin Bates Chief justice Raymond Zondo’s penultimate state capture inquiry report, which is overdue, will be his most comprehensive yet.JOHANNESBURG - The High Court in Pretoria has granted Chief Justice Raymond Zondo a six-week extension to deliver the fifth and final instalment of the report into allegations of state capture.28 April 2022 - 12:34 Erin Bates Chief justice and inquiry chair Raymond Zondo has secured a six-week extension for the final state capture report.

The State Capture Commission has recommended that President Cyril Ramaphosa"consider" Zizi Kodwa's position as deputy minister. Kodwa is said to have been"beholden" to former EOH executive Jehan Mackay The commission says Mackay should be subject to multiple criminal investigations. Zondo has told the high court that topics in the upcoming bundle presented “serious challenges”, with the jurist so dissatisfied with the drafts that he revised them. The State Capture Inquiry has recommended that President Cyril Ramaphosa consider the position of Zizi Kodwa as Deputy Minister of State Security following his implication in questionable transactions between himself and Jehan Mackay, a former director at technology group EOH. However, part four of the report is still expected to be released on Friday. The report points to a beneficial relationship involving personal loans made to him by Mackay and an apparent attempt to buy his influence in the awarding of tenders. . Between February 2014 and April 2015, EOH-related entities and Mackay are said to have made cash payments of around R1. B Premium This article is reserved for our subscribers.

6 million to Kodwa and another R30 000 for his benefit. B Premium This article is reserved for our subscribers. Part four will be delivered formally to the president first on Friday. Kodwa was at the time not a public servant but the ANC spokesperson at the party's head office, Luthuli House. From luxury accommodation to loans and other gratuities, Kodwa is found to have been"beholden" to Mackay, the former executive director of EOH Mthombo, a subsidiary of EOH. Already subscribed? Simply sign in below. The inquiry, headed by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo, has recommended that"the president considers [sic] the position of Kodwa, as Deputy Minister of State Security," given that he"appears to find himself in a position where he is beholden to Mackay". READ |  EXPLAINER | How EOH got caught up in a tender mess that drew state capture attention "Mr Kodwa is beholden to Mr Jehan Mackay, to whom he owes more than R1.

7 million. On his own version, this is a debt which he cannot immediately repay." EOH, through its subsidiary, EOH Mthombo, was a recipient of a number of government contracts that have since come under the scrutiny of law enforcement agencies. Mackay himself is among a group of former executives that EOH is pursuing in a bid to recoup some of the monies lost to the group to corrupt activities. The company has issued summons to former executives in a bid to recoup a combined amount of R6.

4 billion. They include co-founder and former CEO Abher Bohbat; ex-CFO John King, and Ebrahim Laher, who headed the firm's international business. Some of the benefits received by Kodwa involved"substantial donations" to the ANC by the EOH group. Zondo says it is clear that Mackay was attempting to buy influence by making the loans that he made to Kodwa and by providing him with luxury accommodation. He says he repeatedly attempted to engage Kodwa in relation to pending EOH Group tenders.

The report says"it is untenable for the deputy minister of State Security to find himself in a position where he is beholden to a suspect in multiple criminal investigations". It further added that although there was no evidence to show impropriety on the part of Kodwa in relation to the attempts by Mackay to induce him to interfere with procurement processes in the interests of EOH,"it is important to point out that the commission was not able, due to time constraints" to investigate what Kodwa may or may not have done. In April 2021, EOH agreed to pay back over R40 million from contracts awarded by the Department of Defence that were found to be irregular. We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month , you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features.

Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. .