10 Books to Read If You Love Watching the Olympics

These books focus on the full, messy, heroic lives of athletes and fans navigating the brutal, complicated world of competition—giving us the sports fix we crave during and after the Games. By @jessgood:

8/3/2021 10:58:00 PM

These books focus on the full, messy, heroic lives of athletes and fans navigating the brutal, complicated world of competition—giving us the sports fix we crave during and after the Games. By jessgood:

Though this one isn't technically a novel like the rest of the books here, I felt compelled to include it on this list. Written in prose poetry, Citizen is a moving treatise on race and houses a famous essay about Serena Williams's place in the extremely white world of tennis. This is a must-read for tennis fans who yearn to dig deeper into the inequality within the sport.

I’ve been thinking about these issues a lot due to the release of my second novel,They’ll Never Catch Us, a young adult thriller that follows two competitive cross country sisters aiming for number one in their small town. Stella and Ellie Steckler buck up against the crushing pressure placed on them to win gold and aim for perfection—while also finding themselves wrapped up in a murder investigation.

Lil Nas X Gives Birth to Long-Awaited Debut Album 'Montero': Stream It Now Lil Nas X, Elton John Team Up on 'One of Me' Ballad Selena Gomez Spontaneously Got a Helix Piercing During a Night Out With a Friends

It's just one of many books that focus on the full, messy, heroic lives of athletes and fans navigating the brutal, complicated world of competition—giving us all the sports fix we crave during and after the Games. Ahead, 10 books to devour if you can’t get enough of the Olympics.

Advertisement - Continue Reading BelowIf You Love Track & Field'They'll Never Catch Us' by Jessica GoodmanCourtesyREAD ITThis mystery follows two hyper-competitive sisters vying for the top spot on their small town cross country team. Their dreams are thwarted when a new girl comes to town, threatening to outshine them. But when she disappears, everyone begins to suspect the sisters are guilty of something sinister. I wrote this book as a reaction to the way young female athletes are forced to fit into neat little boxes and exude confidence and perfection at all times. Spoiler alert: These characters throw all of those expectations out the window. headtopics.com

Read more: Marie Claire »

This Afghan woman in hiding says she doesn't fear death, she just wants it to be quick - CNN Video

CNN News, delivered. Select from our newsletters below and enter your email to subscribe.

jessgood ✔✔

10 Books to Read If You Love Watching the OlympicsThough this one isn't technically a novel like the rest of the books here, I felt compelled to include it on this list. Written in prose poetry, Citizen is a moving treatise on race and houses a famous essay about Serena Williams's place in the extremely white world of tennis. This is a must-read for tennis fans who yearn to dig deeper into the inequality within the sport.

The Books of ‘The White Lotus’: a Sharp Satire of What Rich People ReadIn HBO's The White Lotus, one character doesn't survive a Hawaiian resort vacation. But you might be gripped by something slightly less sinister: what everyone is reading by the pool. This show is peak cringe. I wanted to follow this account so I might keep up with inside the beltway type news. But honestly I never click to read any of the articles and if feels like most of the content is for media and fashion junk like this. Not wasting any more time here. wow

Gun-wielding masked men shoot 10 in New York City attack, speed off on mopedsA pair of masked men unleashed a fusillade of gunfire on a crowded street in a New York City neighborhood Saturday night, wounding 10 people before getting on mopeds and speeding away, police said. New York Police Department investigators said the episode appeared to be tied to gang violence, but that seven of the shooting victims were innocent bystanders, including a 72-year-old man. 'This was, as I can most accurately describe it, a brazen, coordinated attack,' NYPD Chief of Detectives James Essig said at a news conference on Sunday. Each gun used was originally sold 'legally'.

10 Unique Christmas Tree Decorations to Fast-Forward Right to the HolidaysIt's ever too early to start planning for the most wonderful time of the year.

10 Years Later, Gabrielle Giffords Sees An 'Even More Divided' PoliticsA decade after her return to Washington, the former representative talks about her fear on Jan. 6 and how she thinks Congress can take action on gun viol...

10 Artists Who Could Provide a Limp Bizkit-Esque Moment For Future FestivalsHere are 10 other curveball throwback bookings that Billboard would be interested in seeing at future festivals. 🌜 Requesting He's Into Her by bgyo_ph StarFMRequest StarFMBaguio Thank you BGYO! Guy's please follow my account Uwamoney1 for more updates My Ep coming up soon I need to hit 1k followers to get started Please follow my account & retweet Support Uwamoney1 🙏🙏🙏